Memory of a vineyard
These successive generations, profoundly rooting in the vineyard, have carried on their passion for wine. This secular memory is the guarantee of our expertise.
Many written records, notebooks and documents that have survived to the present day, being meticulously preserved, are a living memory of the company.
Several financial loans in regional history either in old French, or in old German, these documents tell the story of our passion since 1580: the Eguisheim vineyard.
Decades upon decades these visionary ancestors have established the Beyer estate.
Thus Lucas Beyer the purchaser of vineyards at the time of the first say of national properties in 1792, laid the foundation stones of the edifice.
His son, Antoine Beyer acquired the old Hostellerie “Au Cheval Blanc” (The White Horse) in 1837 and its place which was thus at the very heart of the village of Eguisheim.
His son Emile Beyer developed the sale and dispatching of wine in Alsace initially from the major border urban centres of Basel and Karlsruhe. His son Léon Beyer upheld the quality of the Eguisheim crus and extended its market to more dispersed territories.
In 1928 his son Emile-Victor Beyer (grandfather of Christian Beyer) obtained his oenology qualification at the faculty of Dijon.
With Emile-Victor Beyer's expert knowledge, the quality of the wines progressed very rapidly. During a period not very favourable for Alsace wine grower, he worked for the promotion of the bottling of the wine at the estate and created a new label in his own name.
Luc Beyer succeeded his father in 1953, and his acquisition strategy reinforced the position of the domain as one of the best crus in Eguisheim.
Currently Christian Beyer, the 14th generation of Beyers in Eguisheim watches over the company’s destiny.
He joined the company after a solid training in oenology in Burgundy, enriched by experience at château Rieussec in Sauternes and Schloss Johannisberg in the Rheingau.